Call for Nominations for the prestigious 2023 AAMEG Africa Awards

By AAMEG | 23 June 2023

Australian explorers, miners, service organisations and NGOs pioneering in Africa’s mining and resource sector are invited to nominate themselves for the AAMEG Africa Awards 2023.

The prestigious Awards, now in their fifth year, celebrate Australian mining and energy resource companies who are creating positive change in Africa by going above and beyond regular operational expectations to also make a difference in the local communities where the mining takes place.

This year, the focus is on celebrating companies displaying leadership in environmental, social and governance (ESG) principles on the international stage.

Initiatives that demonstrate ESG commitment might include projects that address sustainability practices for optimised water and resource use; entities that improve the lives of the local communities such as capacity building or employment; and who exhibit good governance such as compliance, diversity or transparency.

The categories for 2023 have been revamped and seek to celebrate both emerging and established companies. This decision was made with the intent to better acknowledge the variation of evolving challenges, community expectations and budgets available for projects across the African continent.

This year’s four Africa Awards Categories are:

Category 1. EXPLORER: Emerging ESG Leader Award

Category 2. PRODUCERS: Established ESG Leader Award 

Category 3. MINING SERVICES: Established ESG Leader Award

Category 4. NFP/CHARITY: Change-Maker Award

The Africa Awards are open to Members and Non-Members alike from junior explorers, through to mid-tier and tier-1 major companies.

The annual AAMEG Africa Awards Ceremony will take place during the annual Africa Down Under (ADU) Conference to be held at the Pan Pacific Perth from 6-8 September 2023.

More than 20 years ago, the ADU Conference was launched in Perth to raise awareness of Australia’s interests in African mining and energy.

Today, the ADU Conference is the leading forum for Australian-African business and government relations and the largest African-focused mining event held outside the continent itself.

The Africa Awards are now a highly regarded part of the conference, and a prestigious gong for any Australian mining company to achieve.

The Awards showcase and celebrate Australian industry leading energy and resources companies carving out new paths in African countries that are ethical, equitable, and mutually beneficial.

Endorsed by the Minerals Council of Australia, the Bribery Prevention Network and the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, as well as having ample support from Sponsors across the industry, the Awards possess significant credibility.

Corporate sponsorship of the AAMEG Africa Awards is a tangible way that companies can demonstrate their respect for responsible development of Africa’s resource sector.

As well as 2023 Africa Award nominations, AAMEG is also now accepting Expressions of Interest in Corporate Sponsorship of the Africa Awards (with preference given to preceding sponsors) and is in the process of Judging Panel selection.

2023 Africa Awards Nominations Open Now

2023 Africa Awards Corporate Sponsorship Application Open Now